We are

1
years as an organization
1000 +
CASP members as of 2020
2000 +
hours of training provided

WHO WE ARE

COLLEGE ACADEMIC SUPPORT PROGRAMS (CASP) is the combined efforts of the Texas Association of Developmental Education (TADE) and the College Reading and Learning Association of Texas (TxCRLA). 

Our objective is to advance the knowledge and interest of post-secondary educators working in learning assistance, developmental education, tutorial services, and other programs of academic support and assistance.

Our Mission

To be the ‘Go-To’ resource for our members in providing the most up-to-date tools, resources, techniques, and legislative changes in developmental education for the state of Texas.

Our Vision

To provide professional development and networking opportunities for our members through conferences, publications, and discussion forums to advance our effectiveness as educators.

Our History

The initial CASP conference was the result of more than 12 years of communication between Coordinating Board staff, faculty, administrators, and legislators in response to the growing numbers of underprepared students attending junior colleges and universities across Texas.

The inaugural CASP conference was held at the former Villa Capri; a motor hotel tucked in between The University of Texas at Austin campus and Interstate I-35. Since that time, our membership has grown to 2,000+ educators from across Texas. We have held our conferences annually in various cities and venues across our great state. We are now approaching the age of maturity with almost 40 years of experience as an organization!

Board of Directors

The CASP Board of Directors is comprised of the leadership teams from CRLA-TEXAS and TADE

CRLA-TEXAS

Rachel Hunt

President

Angelina College

rhunt@angelina.edu

To Be Announced

President-Elect

Lisa Jones

Secretary

Denise Guckert

Treasurer

Texas State University

dg21@txstate.edu

Kathy Stein

Membership

Sul Ross State University

kstein@sulross.edu

Dr. Tammy Donaldson

Past President

Del Mar College

tdonaldson@delmar.edu

TADE

Mary Helen Martinez

President

Alamo Colleges District

Mmartinez2245@alamo.edu

Aaron Grimes

President-Elect

Angelina College

agrimes@angelina.edu

Catherine Thurman

Secretary

Collin College

cthurman@collin.edu

Patricia Hernandez

Treasurer

Austin Community College

phernan@austincc.edu

Rajone bw

Rajone Lyman

Membership

Houston Community College

Rajone.lyman@hccs.edu

Leticia B. Villarreal

Past President

Texas A&M Corpus Christi

Leticia.villarreal@tamucc.edu

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. See our Privacy Policy for more details.